1. burundi-flag-big
    Burundi or, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of Southeast Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west.

    Capital: Bujumbura
    President: Pierre Nkurunziza
    Currency: Burundian franc
    Population: 10.16 million (2013) World Bank
    Continent: Africa
    Official languages: French, Kirundi


    According to an unofficial English translation of Article 567 of the Burundi Penal Code, a person who has sexual relations with someone of the same sex may be punished with imprisonment for three months to two years and a fine of 50,000 to 100,000 francs.

  2. Recognition of same-sex relationships

    Article 29 of the Burundi Constitution bans same-sex marriage.

    Adoption of children

    According to a website of the French government, single and married people are eligible to adopt children. The website does not say whether LGBT people are disqualified.

Current News

[srp post_limit=’10’ display_thumbnail=’yes’ post_type=’post’ post_content_length=’250′ widget_title_hide=’yes’ show_sticky_posts=’yes’ tags_include=”current-burundi”]


Coming soon…

Recent Videos

loading videos
Loading Videos...