Côte d’Ivoire


  1. Ivory Coast or Côte d’Ivoire, officially the Republic of Côte d’Ivoire, is a country in West Africa. Ivory Coast’s de jure capital is Yamoussoukro and the biggest city is the port city of Abidjan.

    Currency: West African CFA franc
    President: Alassane Ouattara
    Prime minister: Daniel Kablan Duncan
    Official language: French


    Same-sex sexual acts in private are legal and have never been criminalized within Ivory Coast,[1] due in part to Ivory Coast being a former French colony and not inheriting sodomy laws from France, unlike many former British colonies around the world.[2]

  2. As for public same-sex sexual acts, Article 360 of the Penal Code states this:

    Est puni d’un emprisonnement de trois mois à deux ans et d’une amende de 50 000 à 500 000 francs quiconque commet un outrage public à la pudeur. Si l’outrage public à la pudeur consiste en un acte impudique ou contre nature avec un individu du même sexe l’emprisonnement est de six mois à deux ans et l’amende de 50 000 à 300 000 francs. Les peines peuvent être portées au double si le délit a été commis envers un mineur ou en présence d’un mineur de dix huit ans.[3][Note 1]


    Whoever commits a public breach of decency will be punished with imprisonment for three months to two years and a fine of 50,000 to 500,000 francs. If the public breach of decency consists of an act that is indecent or contrary to nature with an individual of the same sex, the term of imprisonment will be from six months to two years and the fine will be from 50,000 to 300,000 francs. The penalties may be doubled if the crime is committed against a minor or in the presence of a minor of 18 years of age.

Current News

No posts available


Coming soon…

Recent Videos

loading videos
Loading Videos...